Week 15 // Activity: Finger Painting

The last activity for the semester.

Honestly, this activity turned out to be easier and more fun  than I anticipated. I don’t remember every finger painting before but I bet I did something similar when I was younger.

fullsizerender-3

I usually don’t like to paint mostly because of the pressure of having to make it look like something — I’ve never been very good at that. I’ve been wanting to get into watercolor, but haven’t gotten around to it. Doing this activity made me want to get up and start. It was fun to do because I simply did whatever I wanted to do in response to my setting: midnight in my bedroom with R&B music playing. I enjoyed every minute of it despite not knowing exactly what I was doing.

IMG_6885.JPG

Making a painting with no subject is no doubt an inspiring and satisfying experience. I tried it out using a glove at first, but as soon as I tried it without, I realized I liked it better. I just felt the texture of the paint and went with the flow.

fullsizerender-6

When comparing this activity with the graffiti writing activity, there are some similarities and some differences. Both have a lot of artistic freedom, but with graffiti writing, there was an object — our name. With finger painting, the goal is to not have a subject and paint however you want or feel. Finger painting has a more personal touch since you can actually feel the paint, and be able to manipulate the textures more. The visual experience for each activity is distinct because in graffiti writing, the artist usually has a literal statement. On the other hand, finger painting creates a more unique and intimate experience.

One thought on “Week 15 // Activity: Finger Painting

Leave a Reply

