Week 10 // Activity: Fiber Art Social Network

Social network is a huge part of everyday life now. While I have 691 Facebook friends and 463 Instagram followers, realistically, there are only 2 or 3 people that I have an close, intimate relationship with.

dsc_0778

The term “Social Network” for me mostly means the online and mobile tools that connect me to people. Dunbar’s Number can makes sense depending on what “stable social relationship” means to someone. Yes, I know a good amount of people through school, work, dance, mutual friends, etc.; some acquaintances, some people I just “know,” and some I have more of a relationship with. 150 sounds like a good number once I add up the total amount if I don’t include some acquaintances and people I generally only know and don’t have a real relationship with.

Those thousands of Facebook friends that someone may have (someone like my mom who has twice the amount that I have) consist of close friends, family, co-workers, friends of friends, people you met at parties, middle school/high school classmates, and other possibilities. My hundreds of Facebook friends are made up of these categories. In reality, however, I would rather have 10 close relationships than have 100 or even 1000.

img_6613

Nothing was too surprising doing the Art 110 Social Network, except how difficult it was to connect strings with a lot of people trying to do the same thing and with my particular picture stapled higher than most people. I knew a good amount of people due to classmate conversations, but don’t usually speak to them on a regular basis.

img_6615

Having a large amount of friends on Facebook can undoubtedly be advantageous since there will be more of a variety on your feed.

Leave a Reply

